

Special Council Minutes

Date: 12 May 2014

Time: 6.00 - 6.30 pm

PRESENT: Councillor I L McEnnis (in the Chair)

Councillors Mrs J A Adey, K Ahmed, Z Ahmed, D A Anson MBE, D H G Barnes, I Bates, D J Carroll, Mrs L M Clarke OBE, A D Collingwood, R B Colomb, C A Ditta, R Farmer, M A Foster, R Gaffney, J Gibbs, S Graham, A R Green, G C Hall, M Hanif, C B Harriss, A E Hill, A Hussain, M Hussain, Mrs G A Jones, M E Knight, S P Lacey, Mrs J D Langley, Ms P L Lee, Mrs W J Mallen, R Metcalfe, Mrs D V E Morgan, Mrs M L Neudecker, S F Parker, B E Pearce, B R Pollock JP, J L Richards OBE, R J Scott, C Shafique MBE, D A C Shakespeare OBE, A Slater, T Snaith, Mrs J E Teesdale, P R Turner, Ms J D Wassell, D M Watson, R Wilson and Ms K S Wood

Also Present: Honorary Aldermen J M Blanksby, D A E Cox and Mrs P Priestley.

115 WELCOME

The Chairman of the Council prior to commencing the meeting, formally welcomed all those present in the Chamber, and outlined the main areas of business to be considered for the Special and Annual meetings.

116 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from M Angell, M C Appleyard, W J Bendyshe-Brown, D A Johncock, Ms R Knight, J A Malliff, N B Marshall, H L McCarthy, J A Savage and A Turner.

117 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were received

118 ENROLMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

Councillor Mrs Lesley Clarke OBE rose to propose Peter Cartwright as Honorary Alderman.

She went on to detail Mr Cartwright's history and background at the Council from his election in 1976, up until 2007. Mr Cartwright served as Chairman of Wycombe District in 1993, had served on an array of the main committees during the old system of governance. More recently Mr Cartwright had been Cabinet Member for Housing, but had also possessed knowledge of Transport and Employment.

Councillor Mrs Clarke concluded by reporting that she was honoured to nominate Mr Cartwright to the position of Honorary Alderman.

In rising to second the nomination, Councillor I L McEnnis paid tribute to Mr Cartwright, who he had met in 1999, and expressed his gratitude to him for having encouraged him to stand in the local elections, and for introducing him to the world of local politics.

Councillor McEnnis then went on to propose Mr Richard Pushman to the position of Honorary Alderman, whom he had also first met back in 1999. He stated that Mr Pushman had been Chairman of Wycombe District Council in 1999, and Chairman of Buckinghamshire County Council also. He had been involved in a wide range of events and roles within the local area and had always given his full commitment and dedication to all the work he had undertaken.

Councillor Mrs Lesley Clarke said that it gave her great pleasure to formally second the proposal with whom it had always been a privilege to work with.

Upon the proposals being put to the meeting, it was unanimously

RESOLVED: That in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, and the Council's Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon:-

Peter Cartwright in recognition and appreciation of his exceptional service to Local Government as a Member of Wycombe District Council from 1976-2007, as Chairman of the Council from 1992 to 1993 and as Vice-Chairman from 1991-1992

Richard Pushman in recognition and appreciation of his exceptional service to Local Government as a Member of Wycombe District Council from 1987-2011, and as Chairman of the Council from 1999 to 2000.

Honorary Aldermen Mr Cartwright and Mr Pushman thereupon signed the register of Honorary Aldermen and were presented with a certificate and a badge to mark their enrolment.

Honorary Alderman Cartwright expressed his thanks to the proposer and seconder, and to the whole Council for enrolling him to the position, which he felt very honoured to accept.

The Council was provided with details of his early life and background, and informed of how his interest in public transport had begun whilst he studied at the Royal Grammar School. His political life had begun in 1967 during which time he had actively campaigned in the High Wycombe Borough elections in the Labour stronghold of Eastern Ward. It was in 1976, that he had stood for election in the ward, topping the poll with 2,146 votes.

Honorary Alderman Cartwright then went on to give a brief account of his most recently held Cabinet positions at the Council, and mentioned his 2006 election victory to the County Council during a by-election.

He concluded by paying tribute to all Councillors and officers who had devoted much time and energy serving the people of Wycombe District. He stated that he was proud and humbled to accept the honour, for which he wished to express his sincere appreciation.

Honorary Alderman Pushman was grateful to the proposer and seconder for their kind words, and to the whole Council for bestowing the title of Honorary Alderman upon him. He stated that it had always been a privilege to have been a Member of Wycombe District Council, and was delighted to continue with that association.

Honorary Alderman Pushman explained that this year had become a very special one, as it would be 50 years ago this October that he was first elected to Hughenden Parish Council and 40 years ago in 1974 that he had failed by 100 votes to be elected to the newly formed Wycombe District Council. It was not until 1987 that he was to be elected to Council, and in 1999 that he had become Chairman. During this period Honorary Alderman Cartwright had been Mayor and they had been fortunate in having forged a very good working relationship and a lasting friendship, which had continued throughout their time as Members of Buckinghamshire County Council.

Honorary Alderman Pushman paid tribute to both Members and officers who had and continued to work so hard for the common good of the district and its public.

He went on to emphasise that during his years in public office, he had received the unwavering encouragement and support of three ladies. These being Councillor Couper, a fiercely independent lady from the 70s, Honorary Alderman Priestley, who had succeeded her and his wife of 52 years Valerie, who had stood by him throughout.

In his concluding remarks he stated that he would always remember today as a very special occasion, and expressed his thanks again to the Council for bestowing the honour upon him.

The following officers were in attendance at the meeting:

Ian Hunt - Democratic Services Manager
Iram Malik - Democratic Services Officer

Karen Satterford - Chief Executive
Ian Westgate - Corporate Director